The Inter-American Housing Union (UNIAPRAVI by its abbreviations in Spanish) is a non-governmental international trade organization of publicly –and privately-owned institutions involved in financing, promoting and regulating the housing and urban development in the Americas.

UNIAPRAVI was founded in Caracas, Venezuela, on November 12, 1964, with the name of Inter-American Save and Loan for Housing Union, mainly for the impulse and the general interest to share knowledge and experiences from saving and loans systems for housing that, from the beginnings of the 60s began to arise in the continent.

In order to affiliate important finance and saving institutions which contribute significantly to the financing and housing development in their countries, on 1985 was approved the new denomination to Inter-American Housing Union. Later, on 1990 and soon on 1994, other statutory modifications were approved aimed to adapt the organizational structure of UNIAPRAVI for prevailing circumstances and the new requirements that faces the housing finance system in the region.

At the moment, UNIAPRAVI counts on more 100 member institutions - between savings and loan associations, housing banks, mortgage banks, originators or servicers; multiple banks with mortgage portfolio, housing founds, housing ministries or secretariats, building chambers and companies, housing promoters, etc. - in 21 countries: Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Uruguay and Venezuela.

UNIAPRAVI is recognized as Consultative non-governmental organization of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and has headquartered in Lima, Peru, since 1987 due to a Site Agreement with the Government of the Peru and approved by the Peruvian Congress through Legislative Resolution No. 24.930 dated October 25, 1988.